Hello I am Dr. Cox from the School of Advanced Military Studies

D. Cox

Hello,

This forum was recommended to me by a colleague and it seems to be right up my alley.

I am an associate professor of political science at the United States Army, Command and General Staff College, School of Advanced Military Studies.
We teach a diverse group of Joint, International, Interagency, Military (JIIM) students here at SAMS. I have taught people for the US Army, Air Force, Navy, Marines as well as Canadian, German, Dutch, Australian, British, and Colombian military personnel. Each class also has someone from the civilian interagency like the US Agency for International Development (USAID), State Department, or even the Directorate of National Intelligence. I am having a blast here and learning a great deal every day. Given the multinational and interagency nature of this website, I think my colleague is correct in asserting this is a great place to interact with others of like mind.

My research and discussion interests include but are not limited to: terrorism/counterterrorism, insurgency/counterinsurgency (COIN), interagency and international military cooperation, and culture and conflict (especially human terrain systems)

Here is a brief list of selected publications that I think shed some more light on my research interests and are relevant to discussion on Defence Talk Forum:

BOOKS
Cox, Dan G., John Falconer and Major Brian Stackhouse. Terrorism, Instability, and Democracy in Asia and Africa. (July 2009). Lebanon, Hew Hampshire: University Press of New England.

(MY FIRST BOOK! :D I Have to admit I am a bit excited over it).

ARTICLES
Cox Dan G. “Is Al Qaeda a Global Insurgency?” Joint Force Quarterly. (Forthcoming 4th Quarter 2009).

Cox, Dan G. and Diane L. Duffin. (Spring 2008) “Cold War, Public Opinion, and Foreign Policy Spending Decisions: Dynamic Representation by Congress and the President,” Congress and the Presidency. Volume 35, Number 1: 29-51.