Hydrofoils in Naval service

Redlands18

So as to not derail the RAN thread I have started a thread for Hydrofoils.
The US, Japan and Italy operated very small numbers for around 15-16 years and were not replaced, the UK also trialled one as well, strongly suggesting they were not really a great Military success story.
The Soviets where the biggest users operating 51 of the Turya class.

Meriv90

Reading a bit around since as i wrote I have zero knowledge on the topic.

Wondering if electric engine could bring them back like in this case

EDit: Obviously not viable with actual tech, but in 20 years with solid batteries and better electric tech could be again viable.

Last edited:

Ananda

The Bunker Group
The Pinnacle of Hydrofoil for Naval combatan design, I do believe is USN Pegasus class. This class of 6 actually what being proposed as standard fast light strike capabilities for NATO that can be used in more enclosed waters like Baltic and Mediterranean even Black Sea.

1280px-PHM-1.jpg

Boeing civilian Jet Foil design shares basic hull design with Pegasus, in which why Boeing also marketing both Internationally.

I do see this as the last big effort to market Hydrofoil for Naval and Commercial market from 70's to 90's. The interest from large players for Hydrofoil market seems fizzle after this.

cdxbow

The Pinnacle of Hydrofoil for Naval combatan design, I do believe is USN Pegasus class. This class of 6 actually what being proposed as standard fast light strike capabilities for NATO that can be used in more enclosed waters like Baltic and Mediterranean even Black Sea.

View attachment 48743

Boeing civilian Jet Foil design shares basic hull design with Pegasus, in which why Boeing also marketing both Internationally.

I do see this as the last big effort to market Hydrofoil for Naval and Commercial market from 70's to 90's. The interest from large players for Hydrofoil market seems fizzle after this.