Fat kid Wants to Join AU Army

swerve

Super Moderator
To be fair, one of the reasons many Marines in the US find transition to civilian life hard is because the military takes care of people quite well, so he's not entirely wrong in that regard..
I have no personal experience of being in any army, navy, etc., but this fits what I've seen in some people I've known who've had difficulty in adapting to civilian life after military service. I think that it's often to do with structure: life in an army is very structured compared to life outside - well, except in North Korea. ;) That very structured life suits some people very well.

Feanor

Super Moderator
Staff member
I have no personal experience of being in any army, navy, etc., but this fits what I've seen in some people I've known who've had difficulty in adapting to civilian life after military service. I think that it's often to do with structure: life in an army is very structured compared to life outside - well, except in North Korea. ;) That very structured life suits some people very well.