Low-flying aircraft undetectable?

kilo

How low does an air craft need to fly to avoid radar detection? Also can SAMs be fired at low flying aircraft?

petrac

It doesn't matter how low aircraft have to fly, there are always radar systems able to pick them up, depending on position and purpose. Also, quick-reaction low-level SAM systems can always engage aircraft however low they fly.

It is not a matter of flying low, but a matter of planning, finding gaps in radar and missile coverage and situational awareness. low-flying is only one of the techniques to penetrate a defended airspace. Intel, situational awareness and ECM/ESM are much more important.

LancerMc

While I am far from an expert on the subject, a lot of the answer depends on how many ships and the capability of the attacking aircraft. Flying low against a carrier task force would be nearly impossible because of the vast number of radar systems active in the carrier task force for air defence. Against a loan ship that would be easier. If the attacking aircraft had a capable ECM system or the attacking force had ECM aircraft that would probably help the chances of a successful attack. It also depends on the armament, because a lot of the modern ASM's can be launched beyond the horizon. If a missile was launched at ultra low level beyond the horizon, I would think that would make an attack even better.

Scenes from movies the Sum of All Fears aren't realistic and give people the notion of capabilities many airforces and navies don't have.

I hope one of the forums Defense Professionals can give you a better answer.

petrac

LancerMC, you are specifically speaking of naval actions, where there are no mountains to weave through ;-) But essentially the same applies over land. As I wrote before, if you know the locations of SAM radars it is OK, but if one pops up in your flightpath even a 10 foot height will not save you...