Generation Z and the Military

Zach Z.

This is my first time getting back on the forum since Summer and I wanted to get something out of my head and into the Forum where someone could make heads or tails of it.

What I'm wondering is what all is the implication of Generation Z, which is coming of military age, joining the military? What traits does the military think it can use? What traits has the military scratching its head in frustration? And what has the military done in preparation for their coming of age? But my biggest concern being a 'Zer' myself and in training to become an SSO (Strategic Sealift Officer) at Texas A&M at Galveston in the Texas Maritime Academy is will my fellow 'Zers' be able to step up and become the soldiers, sailor, and airmen the nation needs?

phreeky

Is there really all that much difference between generations when it comes down to it? I'm doubtful. People have been around for an awfully long time, a significant portion of our traits (both good and bad) are built into our DNA.

For sure there'd be a difference in experience if you threw a bunch of randoms into uniform, but if the trianing is right then it should all be addressed.

If you are concerned about the mindset of "Generation Z", go have a good look at some of the older folk getting around - there is no lack of oldies that I'd want nowhere near the military.

old faithful

The Bunker Group
Verified Defense Pro
A good recruit training course should make short work of any generational traits, and break the recruit down, before rebuilding what todays military wants/needs.

My2Cents