Transfering from Royal Marines to Aussie Army

Bootneck

Hi all,

After 24 years service in the Royal Marines, I am considering transfering via the Lateral Transfer Scheme (if successful) to the Australian Army. I was wondering if there are any former Royals (or British Army) on this forum that can give me any advice/recommendations.

My good wife will be in tow (ex WREN) and possibly one of our two teenage kids. I will be looking to apply in the next couple of weeks. My background is Landing Craft (former WO1 LC) and latterly MTO and recruit troop commander.

Any comments (or stick!) would be much appreciated.

Paul.

ozsting

How do Royal
I'm a bootneck been out 2 years after 14 in, in the act of joining the ADF at the moment, but I have come to know a few people in oz Defense Force Recruiting so send me you questions and I'll do what I can if your stuck mate.

Hi all,

After 24 years service in the Royal Marines, I am considering transfering via the Lateral Transfer Scheme (if successful) to the Australian Army. I was wondering if there are any former Royals (or British Army) on this forum that can give me any advice/recommendations.

My good wife will be in tow (ex WREN) and possibly one of our two teenage kids. I will be looking to apply in the next couple of weeks. My background is Landing Craft (former WO1 LC) and latterly MTO and recruit troop commander.

Any comments (or stick!) would be much appreciated.

Paul.

Abraham Gubler

Defense Professional
Verified Defense Pro
Hi all,

I think you’ll be very much in demand. The Army will be keeping its amphib capability via ships army detachments (which load and unload all cargo), beachmasters plus coastal and riverine ops with LCM8s and a new littoral type combat boat. But the Navy will be manning the new LCMs for ship to shore from the new LHDs. So I’m sure the Navy would very much want you as well.