my father's military service

tenenbaumer

Hello.

not really sure how to start.

I grew up with an Army father. my comprehension of his military career is pretty vague, and that's why i'm here. i never served. i have no detailed knowledge of how the military operates, rankings, inner bureaucracy, semantics and military language, anything of the sort. because my father never talks in detail about it. at all.

the older i've gotten, the less willing he's been to discuss any details of his service with me. my suspicion is, or has gradually become, because i'm a grown man now, if he told me anything specific, he knows i would figure out the truth. i'm starting to suspect that he was in some sort of special forces, but i openly admit i don't know what the hell i'm talking about.

although he was in the military for about 13 years (from approx. 84-97), i was born in 87, and even at age 10, i really had no idea what was going on. why was he gone all the time? why was he always angry and agitated when he was home? why was my mother always so sad and openly wondering if dad was coming home?

i can remember some very strange details, and i'm wondering if there's ANY insight that service members can give me about what might be going on. i want to preface by saying, once again, that my dad won't really talk to me about any of this, so the details are simply from my memory (mostly as a child) and nothing more.

he graduated with honors in high school, joined JROTC, and completed basic training before being allowed to serve a religious sabbatical BEFORE subsequently joining the Army. Confirmed by my mother.

we were stationed and lived in ft. hood until i was about 9 years old. again, these details are random and disoriented, but given that i was a child and my parents won't talk too much about things, this is all i have: