NATO Weapon Ranges

Burner

I'm interested in NATO's Weapons Ranges (meaning Live Firing Ranges) in any member country. Personally I have little knowledge of such ranges and would like to know more. Because of my curiosity I have tried several times to find any sort of information on this kind of facilities, but with very few exceptions (e.g. Cold Lake Air Weapons Range and others) have failed to find any solid info. Maybe you can help me by posting here some info on WRs in your country (given your country is a NATO member). I'll try and find out more on Romanian WRs, as I'm form Romania. The purpouse is making a sort of database regarding these facilities.

Last edited:

TrangleC

The range of a weapon can vary quite a bit, depending on the conditions.
The same artillery round fired from a howrizer somewhere up in the mountains of Kashmere most likely will fly further than when it's fired 100 meters above sea level, because of the lesser air density.
Or when a aircraft fires a missile, the speed and altitude of the aircraft determines the range too.
Of course there are official numbers for every weapon, but they only apply to the conditions the manufacturer considered the standard.

Waylander

Defense Professional
Verified Defense Pro
And mostly are not correct.
You don't want your enemy to know the real range of your weapons just by looking into the I-net.
Because of this they often say "more than...km/miles"

Burner

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Right. :) I was talking about Weapon Ranges as in live firing ranges, as Grand Danois said. I even said I've found some info on Cold Lake Air Weapons Range. Sorry if I was ambigous. :(

Grand Danois

Entertainer
The biggest one in Western Europe is Vidsel. Not formally a NATO test range, but effectively it is. It was easiest to snatch a bit of text from Wiki.