Idea for future tank/apc

Seanbtwo

I'm an aspiring writer of military science fiction, so I often dream up new weapons systems used by future soldiers. I'd greatly appreciate any and all comments about this particular weapon system.

The idea I had was to begin with a Stryker M1128 Mobile Gun System. The topside cannon would be completely removed. Inside the Stryker there would be two or three stations. Each station would have a helmet that gives the user a heads up display and allows for 360 degree vision and control of the sight lines for the robotic arms. Then, each station will have a pair of gloves that are linked to one set of the robotic arms.

The robotic arms themselves would each end in some type of heavy weapon system (mini guns, rockets, cannons, ground to air missiles, flamethrowers or heavy automatic shotguns). The arms would fold into armored compartments when not needed. I can also see variants of this Stryker being modified to use the robotic arms for search and rescue operations, among other things.

Because each set of arms is operating independently it would allow for multiple targets to be engaged simultaneously, thereby greatly increasing the combat effectiveness of the system.

This idea could also be scaled up and used on a greatly modified tank chassis.

Respond and tell me if this idea has any merit!:sniper

My2Cents

1. What is the proposed purpose/mission of this vehicle? It sounds overly complex (i.e. expensive) and does not make much sense.

2. How many robotic arms? 2, 4 (in 2 pairs), or 6 (in 3 pairs)? What is the length and load bearing capabilities of each arm? Located at opposite ends of the vehicle or superimposed? Will they be attached to the sides, roof, or connected to a torso section (centaur style)?