Terminology and Definitions - Air Force

vbaum

Greetings to all military enthusiasts! I am a professional in the translation and interpretation industry and I am a newbie to this forum. I work a lot with different types of documents and in my line of work I am always in a process of doing research. Hence, I decided to join this forum and ask for expert advice instead of searching the web and not finding what I look for. Hope my questions can be beneficial to other users as well.

Question of the day:

What is the difference between attack helicopter battalion and assault helicopter battalion?

RobWilliams

Super Moderator
Staff member
Welcome to the forum mate

I'd imagine the difference between the pair would be the attack helicopter battalion would be based around attack helicopters such as the Apache AH-64 or Mi-24 Hind who carry offensive armaments whose primary job is to destroy enemy positions using said weaponry and supporting troops with close air support.

An assault helicopter battalion would be based around utility or troop carrying helicopters whose primary job is to ferry troops like the Royal Navy Merlin say (in a naval scenario) from ship to shore. They are lightly armed typically, but they are not equivalent to attack helicopters.

At least, that's what i'd imagine it to be.

vbaum

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Welcome to the forum mate

I'd imagine the difference between the pair would be the attack helicopter battalion would be based around attack helicopters such as the Apache AH-64 or Mi-24 Hind who carry offensive armaments whose primary job is to destroy enemy positions using said weaponry and supporting troops with close air support.

An assault helicopter battalion would be based around utility or troop carrying helicopters whose primary job is to ferry troops like the Royal Navy Merlin say (in a naval scenario) from ship to shore. They are lightly armed typically, but they are not equivalent to attack helicopters.