Submarine to be used in new naval warfare strategy

The Watcher

No comments. I am still learning Navy, etc. :( One thing I do know is that Pakistan is already moving ahead with sub based navy, this should be of a concern and PN can learn from strategies like this one.

Defence and Strategic News
Submarine to be used in new naval warfare strategy

URL of this article:

http://www.defencetalk.com/news/publish/printer_1296.shtml
Feb 9, 2004, 20:00

GROTON (AP) - In only its second deployment, the Groton-based USS Connecticut submarine will make history as it sails to the Mediterranean Sea and Persian Gulf.

The Connecticut will be the first submarine from the Atlantic fleet used in a new Naval strategy that focuses on an increased number of battle groups with fewer ships. But the groups will have more capabilities than the traditional deployments.
The sub, which will leave within the next several days, will join the USS Wasp Expeditionary Strike Group, or ESG, for amphibious operations as needed in the Mediterranean and Persian Gulf.

The new concept is a departure from the current strategy of building large battle groups around aircraft carriers or amphibious group that could deploy larger numbers of troops with limited strike capabilities.

For the first time, submarines, destroyers and cruisers will be included in amphibious groups. Carrier battle groups will be trimmed from 12 or more major ships to perhaps half that many.

Naval officials want smaller, more nimble strike groups than those that operated during the Cold War. But they still want the groups to rival the forces of small countries.

"A smaller group is probably more typical of what we do these days," Capt. David Eyler, commodore of Submarine Squadron 4 at Naval Submarine Base New London, told The Day of New London. The squadron includes the Connecticut.