LCS next steps

contedicavour

I'm interested in gathering opinions on what's next on LCS.
I've read a lot of material on both the Freedom version and the Independence versions. I've read that both the classic single-hull and trimaran hull designs are being built, 2 ships for each design.
What I would like to know is how and when the Pentagon and the USN will decide which of the 2 designs is better suited for full scale production.
I've seen both designs can reach 45knots and carry similar armament, 57mm, modules for ASUW, ASW, MCM..., so it's hard to make a choice between 2 different designs which deliver the same performance ?
Although I'm not an expert, I prefer the single hull more traditional design, it weighs less and I think it carries less development risks.

cheers

Whiskyjack

Honorary Moderator / Defense Professional / Analys
Verified Defense Pro
contedicavour said:
I'm interested in gathering opinions on what's next on LCS.
I've read a lot of material on both the Freedom version and the Independence versions. I've read that both the classic single-hull and trimaran hull designs are being built, 2 ships for each design.
What I would like to know is how and when the Pentagon and the USN will decide which of the 2 designs is better suited for full scale production.
I've seen both designs can reach 45knots and carry similar armament, 57mm, modules for ASUW, ASW, MCM..., so it's hard to make a choice between 2 different designs which deliver the same performance ?
Although I'm not an expert, I prefer the single hull more traditional design, it weighs less and I think it carries less development risks.

cheers
I have seen comments that a mix of both classes may be considered.

contedicavour

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Whiskyjack said:
I have seen comments that a mix of both classes may be considered.
What is your opinion of the 2 options (traditional single hull / trimaran hull) in terms of operational use, knowing speed & armament is the same ?

thks