Amphib classification

Chris74

Hi,

I'm new to the world of navies and ships, so I have a relatively simple (I think) question.

What are the differences between types of amphibs. LST, LPH, LPD, LSD, LSL, LKA, etc??

Here's what I think the differences are:

LST; carries vehicles only (no cargo or extra troops), lands those vehicles by beaching the LST itself

LSD; carries troops and (heavy) vehicles, lands those vehicles by landing craft only (LCU/LCAC). No helos onboard (no hangar), just a landing pad. Single role ship.

LPD; multi role version of LSD, carries helos, has a hangar, carries fewer landing craft. Carries the Amtracs.

LPH; carries only light equipment, troops and light vehicles, only things that can be carried by helos. SIngle role ship.

LHD/LHA; combines function of LPH and LSD.

LKA; cargo ship??? :confused:

LSL; comparable to LKA? :confused:

Any more differences between LSD and LPD, how are they to be used tactically? LKA? LSL?

I hope someone can help. Thanks

Best,

Chris74

Tasman

Ship Watcher
Verified Defense Pro
Hi,

I'm new to the world of navies and ships, so I have a relatively simple (I think) question.

What are the differences between types of amphibs. LST, LPH, LPD, LSD, LSL, LKA, etc??

Here's what I think the differences are:

LST; carries vehicles only (no cargo or extra troops), lands those vehicles by beaching the LST itself

LSD; carries troops and (heavy) vehicles, lands those vehicles by landing craft only (LCU/LCAC). No helos onboard (no hangar), just a landing pad. Single role ship.

LPD; multi role version of LSD, carries helos, has a hangar, carries fewer landing craft. Carries the Amtracs.

LPH; carries only light equipment, troops and light vehicles, only things that can be carried by helos. SIngle role ship.

LHD/LHA; combines function of LPH and LSD.

LKA; cargo ship??? :confused:

LSL; comparable to LKA? :confused:

Any more differences between LSD and LPD, how are they to be used tactically? LKA? LSL?