Hypothetical Cold War Invasion

woodenandy

Newbie here. This is only my second post. Just hope I am not asking an already asked question. I have always had this question in my head when reading up on the Cold War.

Let's say in the year 1980, there was a hypothetical Soviet invasion of Britain. The Soviets have somehow managed to fight their way to London. What would be the contingency plan for the defense of the city? Would we see Milan missile positions, for example. What types of tanks or armored-fighting vehicles would most likely be deployed? Any speculation/opinion is welcomed.

fozz

Newbie here. This is only my second post. Just hope I am not asking an already asked question. I have always had this question in my head when reading up on the Cold War.

Let's say in the year 1980, there was a hypothetical Soviet invasion of Britain. The Soviets have somehow managed to fight their way to London. What would be the contingency plan for the defense of the city? Would we see Milan missile positions, for example. What types of tanks or armored-fighting vehicles would most likely be deployed? Any speculation/opinion is welcomed.
Well, This sounds like fun - I have a few questions first.

In this hypothetical situation... Do we or do we not know about the invasion previously due to SIGINT/ Human Intelligence etc... For example we knew the wall was falling in Berlin before it ever fell...

Do we know they are coming? Yes or No?

Is the United States Military involved or are we just talking Britain? Are we giving Britain the heads up due to USSR rolling through Europe? Just a few questions before we get into the nitty gritty.

woodenandy

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
Well, This sounds like fun - I have a few questions first.

In this hypothetical situation... Do we or do we not know about the invasion previously due to SIGINT/ Human Intelligence etc... For example we knew the wall was falling in Berlin before it ever fell...

Do we know they are coming? Yes or No?