Where do your armed services source their officers?

adroth

Hello,

I'm currently studying the alleged rivalry between military academy graduates, and those sourced from other programs (e.g., OCS, etc.) in the Armed Forces of the Philippines. Non-academy graduates reportedly have a glass ceiling.

I operate the following Web site for this purpose: http://www.adroth.ph/sites/startracker/trackerhome.php. Its focused on tracking the careers of officers with O-7 ratings (BGEN) and higher.

I was wondering if other countries have similar issues, or if this is another case of "only in the Philippines".

Do you send officers to other countries for OCS or academy training?

I know the likes of Singapore, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, and the like periodically send folks to Australia for OCS. Other Asian countries send cadets to the Philippine Military Academy -- which has the dubious honor of having graduates who have backed coup d'etats in the Philippines and recently in Thailand.

Our own boys have attended all the American military academies, Aussie OCS, and last year one of our own topped his batch in the Japanese National Defense Academy.

Looking forward to your responses.

Big-E

Banned Member
USA is the source for most nations that outsource... We had many foreigners at my time in the Citadel.

adroth

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
USA is the source for most nations that outsource... We had many foreigners at my time in the Citadel.
Hi Big E,

I posted a similar question on Military.com, and someone gave me stats that showed that O7 plus officers in the US Armed Services were evenly divided between academy and non-academy graduates. Have you noticed any friction between the two groups?

Have you served with any American officers who were graduates of foreign academies or OCS programs?

The Philippine Military Academy has on record at least one American. Not sure if there were others. This was back in the 60's. He eventually became KIA in Vietnam.

Last edited: