A way forward for Finland?

Watchkeeper

Hi all,

This is my first post here, so I just thought to tell you all some information about myself with a couple of lines, otherwise I try to strictly stay on-topic. I am just a 22-year old university student, who has been lurking on the forum for some time now. I performed my military service in the Finnish Navy in 2010 (Finland has a compulsory military service for all males) and have also been involved with the Navy Reserve since then. That is enough about me for now, and back to the topic.

The question I have concerns the geopolitical status of Finland and the geostrategic issues of the whole Northern Europe.

Finland is currently undergoing a financial crisis as most of the Europe does. As consequence, defence budgets have faced some cuts and money is also tight for the future. Currently, Finland's defence budget is little over 2,25 billion euros or roughly 1.5 % of GDP. The Finnish defence forces is based on a universal male conscription. All men above 18 years of age are liable to serve either 5,5, 8,5 or 11,5 months. Yearly over 20 000 conscripts are trained. Finland’s maximum wartime capacity is officially 350,000 soldiers, including the Army, Navy and Air Force, although it will diminish to 250 000 soldiers during the 2010s.