A career in the Australian inteligance community

Ozzy Blizzard

Im currently a 3rd year Law student and i was thinking about a change in carrer path. I know a few of you have worked for inteligance agencies and i was wondering if you could answer a few questions?

what sort of experiance do you need?

is the work fulfilling?

How hard is the selection proscess for ASIS, DIO or ASIO(maybe) for a civilian?

Do you recomend it?

i'd love to hear your oppinions on a potential career in the inteligence community , to be honnest writing wills all day doesn't look all that atractive.:D

A

Aussie Digger

First off, finish your degree. It is a basic requirement that ALL applicants hold a degree in something, even for surveillance operatives to join any Australian Intelligence Organisation.

A bit of Army reserve training will help too. For one thing it will get you used to "Government" processes and application procedures etc and the perceived training and disciplinary benefits can only be a plus.

On top of that you will already hold a "secret" security clearance and make it that much easier to get through the vetting and background checks that are (obviously) extensive to join such an agency.

You can find out more application standards and details here:

http://www.asis.gov.au/io/process.html

and here:

http://www.asio.gov.au/

and here:

http://www.ona.gov.au/index.shtml

Snayke

You could always become an intel officer in the army. :p I can't remember exactly what jobs you could get but I think one was an intelligence analyst or something.

Magoo

Defense Professional
Verified Defense Pro
Ozzy Blizzard said:
Im currently a 3rd year Law student and i was thinking about a change in carrer path. I know a few of you have worked for inteligance agencies and i was wondering if you could answer a few questions?

what sort of experiance do you need?

is the work fulfilling?

How hard is the selection proscess for ASIS, DIO or ASIO(maybe) for a civilian?

Do you recomend it?