Question from Military Fiction Author on bridge destruction

QuantumAuthor

Hello everyone and thanks in advance to those who are kind enough to respond to my questions here. I'm asking this question here because the weaponry in question appears to mostly be used by ground forces.

I'm an author on my third book and the story I have forming has a heavy military influence. Unlike many authors I like to take great pains to ensure that the scenarios I detail are as accurate as possible.

The event that kicks off the story is the terrorist destruction of a bridge that sits at a critical point in a major US highway. This highway is a critical trucking route for a large portion of the US and so it's destruction is crippling to the economy.

In the original scenario I had envisioned the terrorists destroy the is a double decker cantilever truss bridge by targeting the two large concrete and steel support structures that are in the river below. The resulting explosions are powerful enough to cause the bridge to buck upwards 10-20 feet and for one half of the bridge to immediately collapse into the river. The other half has a portion perched atop its support that remains standing for approximately 11 minutes before it collapses as well.

I had originally envisioned the terrorists using two truck mounted TOW BGM-71H's to destroy the bridge supports. But the supports are pretty significant in size and mass. (see attached photo) I'm unsure if the BGM-71H would be sufficient to cause immediate structural failure. If it is not then I'd be interested in opinions on what weaponry would be appropriate?

I'd appreciate any feedback from anyone with expertise in this area.

Thanks!

Abraham Gubler

Defense Professional
Verified Defense Pro