New airplane?

hermannr

I just joined this forum to ask a question of anyone that may have an idea where I should look next for more information.

First a bit about me. I am a private pilot. I was US Army in Vietnam, and am a retired computer engineer. Also, I did work as a civilian on the A6 weapons system simulator back years ago, so I do know a little about aviation, and more specifically Navy Aviation. I do not claim to know a lot, and my experience is old (like me).

Ok, now the question: Any idea what would use a ducted fan for a prop? (that is what it sounded like to me) Very high speed, ducted fan sound kind of like the old sound suppressed ducted fans we used to use in the old very large computer systems for cooling.

I did not see the aircraft. By the sound, It was flying low and (guess) about 300+ knots, west to east.

I would assume Navy or Air Force, we have a NAS about 150 miles west and an Air Force base about the same distance east of us, and because of proximity to the Canadian border (I assume) we have regular EA6B and F15 flights in our area.

But this was strange. Definite a suppressed ducted fan type sound, I doubt they could ever make a fan jet that quiet, even though a fan jet is just a very large, multi-stage. ducted fan.

Any idea's what I heard?

Trackmaster

I just joined this forum to ask a question of anyone that may have an idea where I should look next for more information.

First a bit about me. I am a private pilot. I was US Army in Vietnam, and am a retired computer engineer. Also, I did work as a civilian on the A6 weapons system simulator back years ago, so I do know a little about aviation, and more specifically Navy Aviation. I do not claim to know a lot, and my experience is old (like me).